The Hunger Games

June 14, 2011 at 3:42 pm (Book Reviews) (, )

The Hunger Games (The Hunger Games, #1)The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I was totally blown away by this book and could not put it down. I have not ripped through a book like this in a while, not since the Twilight series… except that this was well-written. I honestly cannot explain my compulsion to keep reading the Twilight books; it was a paradox – poorly written about characters with limited range, but I needed to find out what was going to happen. With The Hunger Games, there is no question about why it is a compelling read.

The setting of The Hunger Games is a post-apocalyptic North America, now Panem, where the all-powerful Capitol controls the surrounding Districts, 1-12. As punishment for a failed rebellion and a reminder of the absolute power of the Capitol, every year each district must give a boy and a girl between the ages of 12 and 18 as tributes to participate in a televised fight-to-the-death. Viewership is mandatory for everyone in Panem.

I don’t really want to give anything else away, but this is a fascinating study of human nature, the good and the bad, wrapped up in a fantastic story. Can’t wait to tear through book 2… Catching Fire.

View all my reviews

3 Comments

  1. Jenn Yunis said,

    The Hunger Games series was great! I, too, had the same unexplicable compulsion with Twilight and I have to admit, the movies somehow have the same draw even though I know what is going to happen!

    • pemberliegh said,

      Strange phenomenon. I’m glad I’m in good company! In a little fairness to Stephenie Meyer, I should add that I also read her other book, The Host, and it was better than Twilight; not worlds better, but better. She clearly has something… like candy… or french fries… you know it’s not good, but you want it so hard! In the face!

      • Jenn said,

        Ah yes, I read The Host as well and thought it was better than Twilight. Yet somehow I can see myself reading Twilight again, but not The Host… mmm bad vampire candy!

Leave a Reply

