Retro Recommendations

September 24, 2010 at 5:25 pm (Movie Reviews) (, , , , , , , , )

What’s Up, Doc? (1972) is number 61 on the American Film Institute’s 100 greatest comedies. Personally, I think this is too far down on the list. Peter Bogdanovich was the master behind this homage to the classic screwball comedy. I’ve gotten a lot of flak over the years, from my contemporaries, for recommending a Barbra Streisand movie. I always make them give it a chance before they veto AND THEY ALWAYS LOVE IT. This movie is beyond hilarious. It also happens to be the feature-length film introduction for comedic genius Madeline Kahn. The story is loosely based on number 14 on the list, Bringing Up Baby (1938). Fourteen is pretty close.

In fact, watch this one first if you haven’t seen it. Cary Grant and Katharine Hepburn at their best. Brilliant. The epitome of screwball comedy, these movies have fast-paced dialogue, ranging from silly to witty, and gradually escalating incidents of slapstick humor. Something for everyone with both of these films.

Rating: I already own these on DVD. For a while I had two copies of What’s Up, Doc?, but I gave one away to someone in need. That’s how I roll. Yup. I’m a giver.

Leave a Reply

