June 2010

September 20, 2010 at 8:19 pm (Movie Reviews) (, , , , , , , )

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo is based on the Stieg Larsson novel of the same title. The book explores corporate crime, family dynamics and dysfunction, and violence against women – wrapped up in a complex, suspenseful mystery. The movie actually did a pretty good job of capturing the book… for once. This is an intense, dark movie with only a few humorous moments to break it up. There are a couple scenes of graphic violence that may be difficult for some to handle. It is Swedish with English subtitles. If you don’t like that in a movie, Sony Pictures is in the process of making a Hollywood version set for release in 2011. Funny side note on the subtitles, though: since Swedish and English both have roots in Old Norse, some of the subtitles were totally unnecessary. Because they sound exactly the same. Most interestingly so: any references to murder. I’m hoping that doesn’t say something unfortunate about humanity. I have read all three books in the series and am anxiously awaiting the US release of the second movie.

Rating: I will buy this on DVD*. No question.

*UPDATE: I DID buy this on DVD. I have also seen the second movie, review is on the way… c’mon number three!!

This is not the usual Robin Hood, more like a prequel or origin story. It totally defies almost all of the typical Robin Hood conventions. It was a little long and there are some subtitles for the French characters, just in case that matters to anyone, but it was also much more realistic than any other Robin Hood movie. Good chemistry between Russell Crowe and Cate Blanchett.

Rating: I think I might buy this when it comes out on DVD. Just because I like that it is different.

Ok, Iron Man 2 – not as good as the first, but still fun. I would have liked more action between Iron Man and Ivan Vanko (uh, the bad Iron-ish Man). Otherwise it was alright. Robert Downey Jr. is his usual charming scoundrel self. Like the other recent Marvel comic films, this is setting up for The Avengers movie slated for release 5/4/2012. Keep watching until after the credits, if you like. It’s not amazing, but there is a little something there.

Rating: I won’t buy this one (don’t have the first one either).

2 Comments

  1. Caitlin said,

    I am reading “The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo”! It will take me a while to get through it, but I already have the movie on my Netflix queue and am looking forward to seeing it. I am rather partial to the Swedes. They make great furniture, meatballs, fish and cars… oooh, if this movie has a Volvo chase, I will be a big fan of their cinematography as well. 🙂

    • pemberliegh said,

      I hope you enjoy it. I did! I know one of my friends had trouble getting into, but it really picks up later and she got there. Made me a believer in all things Sweden. You know it was originally supposed to be a series of 10 mystery novels, but poor Steig died of a heart attack at 50? Sad day. They say he wrote most of the fourth, the beginning and end, and his partner Eva was working with him on it, but they won’t let her finish it. Meh.

      You’ll have to let me know how it goes. Review of the second movie coming up…

Leave a Reply

